Turn your rut into a groove. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/ Sat, 20 Oct 2018 20:05:03 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Oct 19, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-19-2018.html <p>pm--7.5 Sullivan to the fork and back. We had a stouter pace than yesterday. It&#39;s funny how a peeing contest happens on these days when we just ought to be chilling. Someday.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 18, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-18-2018.html <p>pm--6.75 Green Springs. The girls had a some go in their legs today. Fun day w/ school celebrations of our success at State. Now, if someone could only put together a timing system that shared team times and merged results. . .</p> Thu, 18 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 17, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-17-2018.html <p>am&mdash;7.5 Ran on the Trax Trail w/ Holt and then around the mall.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 16, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-16-2018.html <p>am--5.5 Around the neighborhood on a chilly morn.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm&mdash;3.5 Some Miles around the park, playing MarioKart w/ 4x striders after.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 15, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-15-2018.html <p>am--5.5 DI and warm and cool w/ the kids, sandwiched around their workout.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 13, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-13-2018.html <p>pm--7.5 Old Morning route w/ some variation and a few strides at the end. It was nice to cruise around w/ some Modest Mouse and Built to Spill on the buds. On another note, I nearly broke one of my segment records on Strava. One second off!!!</p> Sat, 13 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 12, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-12-2018.html <p>am--3 Easy miles, just enjoying the movement. I did 2k on the erg after.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--6.5 Got some miles in while the girls did their workout. A plus was the 6:22 mile on the track while I was tempoing against the grain. I feel pretty fit except for the aches and pains of an aging body.&nbsp;</p> <p>I finished a short novel,&nbsp;<em>The Wave: the classroom experiment that went too far&nbsp;</em>by Todd Strasser, a student recommended to me. It&#39;s a quick read and an interesting look at an experiment a teacher used to teach students about the momentum in a fascist movement. It&#39;s based on a true story from the life of Ron Jones.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 12 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 11, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-11-2018.html <p>pm--4.75 Owen&#39;s Loop and City Creek trail on a nice overcast day. We had a pretty decent group. It was fun running sweeper.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 10, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-10-2018.html <p>am--2.5 Bank and back. Felt a bit more relaxed this morning.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--5.25 Nice run on the old Dog Pound route. It&#39;s been years since we&#39;ve run here. It used to be an old tempo (AT) route we would do almost weekly. We decided on the State squads. It&#39;s always hard to tell kids who are equally deserving that they don&#39;t get the opportunity to race. One of the tough parts of coaching.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 10 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 09, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-09-2018.html <p>am--6 Harts/Bank/DI in reverse. Nice and chill morn.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--2 Region South running. The team looked good today. The best we&#39;ve run at Region in a while. Boys--1st. Girls--2nd.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 09 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 08, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-08-2018.html <p>am--6 Foremaster. Cool, nice morning. Fall has arrived in Southern Utah. Ran a little in the afternoon, but nothing to record.&nbsp;</p> <p>I just finished&nbsp;<em>Coyote America</em>&nbsp;by Dan Flores. It was a great read, part history, part mythology, part ecology. It reminded me I haven&#39;t seen a coyote in a while.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 08 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 06, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-06-2018.html <p>am--6.5 A run on SC Parkway before aid-station duties at the StG Marathon.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 06 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 05, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-05-2018.html <p>am--2.5 Good stout run in the manyan.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--4 Warm and cool, sandwiched around the workout. The kids look good and fast. I had a nice chat w/ Alli this afternoon.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 05 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 04, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-04-2018.html <p>am--1.5 Weights and a leftover rain run.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--3 Something easy w/ my neighbor. The weather was heavenly. Also had some good things happen at the SC Invite.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 03, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-03-2018.html <p>am--2.5 Bank and back. Someone always wants to keep it honest.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--6 Nice workout for the kids in Coral Canyon. They looked strong. They looked fast. They looked together.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 03 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 02, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-02-2018.html <p>am--1.5 Weights/Harts+. We had a little drizzle this morning, but that&#39;s all that&#39;s come of the foretold storm.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--5.5 Green Springs. We had a good group and an interesting vernacular.&nbsp;</p> <p>The past few days, I also finished&nbsp;<em>Lord of the Flies&nbsp;</em>by William Golding and&nbsp;<em>Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus</em>&nbsp;by Mary Shelley. Both were for classes. Nevertheless, I enjoy revisiting novels and the feelings they evoke.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 02 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 01, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-01-2018.html <p>am--9 Sugar Loaf w/ pickups. It felt good to get moving this morning. The kids are looking good and feeling hungry.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 01 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 29, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-29-2018.html <p>am--6.5 Kidney Loop. I felt pretty sluggish to begin but picked up as I went. I haven&#39;t seen my coyote buddy in a while. Wonder what happened to him.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 29 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 28, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-28-2018.html <p>am&mdash;5 DI/Bank/Costco PL. Really&nbsp;nice morning. Later, the Cedar Invitational went very well for the Panthers.</p> Fri, 28 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 27, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-27-2018.html <p>am--1.5 Weights/Harts. Some good chatter.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--6 Sullivan. Tried roll call a few times. Still a work in progress. We were all over the place today, but the girls seem to be having more fun together.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 26, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-26-2018.html <p>am&mdash;2.5 Bank and back in the autumnal weather.</p> <p>pm&mdash;4 Warm and cool w/ some running during the workout.</p> Wed, 26 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 25, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-25-2018.html <p>am--1.5 Weights/Harts+. Fun jaunt to start off the day.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--6 Fire Station into the desert just long enough for Pyper to tell the small-dog-through-the-cattle-guard story. MauBea and I added a mile at the school.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 24, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-24-2018.html <p>am&mdash;8.5 Turkey Farm out-and-back w/ pickups. Was a bit of a rough start but got rolling by the end.</p> Mon, 24 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 22, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-22-2018.html <p>am--6 Cool run through Downtown Boise w/ Dave and Decker. Lang day after, with the meet and the drive home. I actually enjoyed spending time w/ the kids. Grateful to be a part of something.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 22 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 21, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-21-2018.html <p>am&mdash;2.25 A few miles around Woods Cross.</p> <p>pm&mdash;3 Ran the course at Bob Firman.</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 20, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-20-2018.html <p>am&mdash;5 Old morning route. The morning felt great.</p> <p>pm&mdash;5.75&nbsp;Run and strides on the state course.</p> Thu, 20 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 19, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-19-2018.html <p>am--2.5 Bank and back. Nice run w/ some frisbee talk. The morning was gorgeous.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--1.75 Some running around BHNP during the workout.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 19 Sep 2018 06:00:00