Turn your rut into a groove. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/ Sat, 18 Aug 2018 06:24:07 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Aug 17, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2018.html <p>am--2.5 Bank and back. Hot pace. Perhaps, some folks are fired up after yesterday evening.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--5 Green Springs. Good run w/ a small crew. We had to swing by the Hills&#39;, so Jess could say bye to Nick. :)</p> Fri, 17 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 16, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2018.html <p>am&mdash;3.5 DI/weights/Hart&rsquo;s. Decent run but short because of the meet this evening.</p> Thu, 16 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 15, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2018.html <p>am--2.5 Bank and back w/ the Wednesday skeleton crew.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--3.5 Nice run around the middle school w/ a good push at the end. Things are coming together.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 14, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2018.html <p>am&mdash;1.75 To the Whale and back.</p> <p>pm&mdash;4.25 In and around Washington. Pretty good run in the heat.</p> Tue, 14 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 13, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-13-2018.html <p>am&mdash;6.5 Warmed and ran around during the workout. Good things are happening w/ many folks. Others need some motivation.</p> <p>I finished another Sherlock Holmes novel,&nbsp;<em>The Hound of the Baskervilles.&nbsp;</em>Fun, haunting read.</p> Mon, 13 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 10, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2018.html <p>am--5.25 A nice run into Green Springs. I poted out of striders because I&#39;m sore and old. Yesterday, my knee started feeling tight and looks a little swollen. There is no pain, so I&#39;m hoping it&#39;s just adjusting to my more active lifestyle during the school year.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 09, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2018.html <p>am&mdash;5.25 Explored some places to do some hill circuits. Decent run.</p> <p>pm&mdash;1.75 I felt a little beat down this afternoon. I might be able to get some decent sleep tomorrow.</p> Thu, 09 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 08, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2018.html <p>am&mdash;7.25 Pace work on the grass field at the side of the school. Nice group w/ some new explorers.</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 07, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2018.html <p>am&mdash;4.5 SC grass run w/ 6x barefoot striders. Worked on the good, fresh, fast stuff.</p> <p>pm&mdash;1.5 Weights and neighborhood run.</p> Tue, 07 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 06, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-06-2018.html <p>am&mdash;4 I&rsquo;m not sure how many miles exactly, but I did circumnavigate the park a handful of times. The time trial was promising. The weather was beautiful.</p> <p>pm&mdash;1.5 An easy shakeout.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 06 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 04, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-04-2018.html <p>am--7.5 Looped up by The Canyons. The going was tough at first, but I was able to get the last 3 miles under 8-min. pace. That was fun. I&#39;ve got some work to do in the fitness department.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 04 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 03, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-03-2018.html <p>am&mdash;5 A good run w/ 8x striders.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 03 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 02, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-02-2018.html <p>am&mdash;6 Grinding hill run. I looked back a bit for some kids. The first had to tie her shoe&mdash;let&rsquo;s get some Velcro for this one&mdash;and the second is a newcomer w/ lots of heart. High-altitude camp was a great success. Lots of lessons, volleyball, fun, and tears.</p> <p>I finished <i>The Sign of Four</i>, the second Sherlock novel, this evening. These stories are decent detective novels. The genre is a favorite of mine.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 01, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-01-2018.html <p>am&mdash;9 Long run on the Great Western Trail. This section is more like a Jeep road.</p> Wed, 01 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 31, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-31-2018.html <p>am&mdash;5 Out-and-back on the road to Pine Lake. I was able to run and chat w/ some kids I don&rsquo;t often see on runs.</p> <p>pm&mdash;2.5 Up-and-back on the hill we use for our hill run.</p> Tue, 31 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 30, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-30-2018.html <p>am&mdash;6.5 Intervals at 8k pace on the dirt mile. The groups are looking pretty good. I jumped from one group to the other.</p> <p>pm&mdash;2.5 A nice run around Pine Lake. First day of high-altitude camp.</p> Mon, 30 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 28, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-28-2018.html <p>pm&mdash;3.5 A shorty for the lower limbs.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 28 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 27, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-27-2018.html <p>am&mdash;10.5 Long run from the fields to Warner Valley and back. Like everyone else, I thought the run turned out to be quite a pleasant jaunt. We had a good crew that stuck together the whole run.</p> Fri, 27 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 26, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-26-2018.html <p>am--6 Waltzed around the parking lot for 10 minutes, waiting for Jada. She never came. :( Finally, headed up the Grapevine road. I like that climb. Al Brown rocked it today.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--1.5 Normal neighborhood heat run. 111 degrees today. Emma rocked it.&nbsp;</p> <p>Earlier this week, I finished&nbsp;<em>A Study in Scarlet</em>&nbsp;by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It&#39;s the first Sherlock novel and includes a lengthy middle section about Utah and the Mormons. Everything ties in at the end. I promise.&nbsp;</p> <p>I am also just wrapping up&nbsp;<em>Candide</em>&nbsp;by Voltaire. Lots of terrible things happen, but Candide has trouble shaking the philosophy of his first teacher--&quot;It all works out for the best.&quot; Like I read somewhere, you laugh out loud as you read it, not because it&#39;s funny but beacuse you don&#39;t know what to do when more terrible things come to pass.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 25, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-25-2018.html <p>am&mdash;4.75 Urie-Grass run w/ the last kids club of the season. It was a fun time on the grass. I love how the personalities play off of each other.</p> <p>pm&mdash;2.25 I thought about taking the afternoon off because my lower extremities are achey, but, mentally, I needed a win.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 24, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-24-2018.html <p>am&mdash;7.5 Nice loop around Santa Clara w/ a few tempo miles thrown in. By the end I was beat. Nonetheless, I felt positive about the run.</p> <p>pm&mdash;1.5 Afternoon heat run. I also got some nice notes from the girls.</p> Tue, 24 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 23, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-23-2018.html <p>am&mdash;6.5 Pace work again w/ the randomness of the cards. Good group w/ some new folks hanging tough.</p> Mon, 23 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 20, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2018.html <p>am--6.5 Pace work at the elementary w/ Josh from MileSplit. The girls packed really well. Things are starting to come together. And I&#39;m fairly enthused.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 19, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2018.html <p>am&mdash;5.5 Decent run into Grapevine. Saw some fight from some welcome sources. I skipped out on striders to do some form advisement.</p> <p>pm&mdash;1.5 Weights and a heat run.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 18, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2018.html <p>am--7.5 A good longish run into the Fields. It was warmer and the pace was pretty stout at the beginning, so finishing uphill was a gutcheck for many of us. Kids are working hard, though.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 18 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 17, 2018 http://vis.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2018.html <p>am--4.25 Urie/Grass w/ 6x barefoot striders. The heel is aching. The sandhill always crushes it.&nbsp;</p> <p>pm--1.75 Weights and afternoon run. Hot one in StG.&nbsp;</p> <p>I finished&nbsp;<em>The Secret Life of Bees&nbsp;</em>by Sue Monk Kidd. It&#39;s full of honey, black Mary, and female power.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2018 06:00:00